Style Switcher

Text Resize



The Legal Services Authorities Act, 1987 was enacted by the Parliament to give effect to Article 39 A of the Constitution of India which guarantees free and competent legal services to the weaker sections of the society to ensure that they are not denied access to justice by reason of economic or other disability. As provided under Section 6 of the Legal Services Authorities Act, 1987, the Government of Meghalaya has set up the Meghalaya State Legal Services Authority(MSLSA) in July 1998. In line with this, the Meghalaya State Legal Services Authority Rules, 1998 and the Meghalaya State Legal Services Authority Regulations, 2000 were framed. The office of the MSLSA is presently housed in the building of the Additional Secretariat, Shillong below the MATI building. The Member Secretary and other officers and staff functions under the direct supervision and guidance of the Hon'ble Executive Chairman, to fulfill an onerous duty to ensure that the legal aid programmes and schemes are implemented in its letter and spirit through the State. In order to ensure that the objectives of the Act are translated into reality, and that the constitutional guarantees are fulfilled to the people of the State, the MSLSA have devised a comprehensive legal services programme in the form of the State Action Plan. Efforts have been made when framing the programmes/activities to ensure that they adapt to local situations so that they can effectively address the problems faced by the people in the State and at the same time to be in consonance with the National Plan of Action. It is expected that these activities will be carried out in letter and spirit and that the benefits actually reach the targeted sections of society leading us towards the goal of "Access to Justice for All".



1 Hon’ble Mrs Justice T Meena Kumari 23-03-2013 to 03-08-2013
2 Hon’ble Mr Justice Prafulla C. Pant 20-09-2013 to 12-08-2014
3 Hon'ble Mr. Justice Uma Nath Singh 19-03-2015 to 14-01-2016
4 Hon'ble Mr Justice Dinesh Maheshwari 24-02-2016 to 12-02-2018
5 Hon'ble Mr Justice Tarun Agarwala 12-02-2018 to 02-03-2018
6 Hon'ble Mr Justice Mohammad Yaqoob Mir 21-05-2018 to 27-05-2019
7 Hon'ble Mr Justice Ajay Kumar Mittal 28-05-2019  to 12-11-2019
8 Hon'ble Mr.Justice Mohammad Rafig  13-11-2019 to 26-04-2020
9 Hon'ble Mr. Justice Biswanath Somadder  27-04-2020 to 11.10.2021
10 Hon’ble Mr Justice Ranjit V. More, Chief Justice 12-10-2021 till Date


1 Hon'ble Mr. Justice (Retd.)T.C. Das 24.07.1998 - 31.10.2007
2 Hon'ble Mr. Justice T. Vaiphei 16.12.2007 - 02.04.2013
3 Hon'ble Mr Justice T.Nandakumar Singh  02-04-2013 - 31-01-2016
4. Hon'ble Mr Justice Sudip Ranjan Sen 09-03-2016 -08-03-2019  
5 Hon'ble Mr Justice Hamarsan Singh Thangkhiew 20--03-2019 till 10-06-2020  



1 Shri W. S. Mawlong, IAS 01.11.1998 - 31.12.2002
2 Shri S. Dykes 12.06.2003 - 26.04.2004
3 Shri S.R. Sen, MHJS 01.11.2004 - 24.02.2006
4 Shri W. Diengdoh, MHJS 03.04.2008 - 18.11.2013
5 Shri A.M. Ripnar, MHJS 18.11.2013- 05.02.2014
6 Shri N.A. Khan, MHJS 24.03.2014 - 12.07.2015
7 Shri W. Diengdoh, MHJS 13.07.2015 - 30.06.2019
8 Shri. N.A.Khan, MHJS  01-07-2019 -14-09-2021
9 Shri, E.Kharumnuid, MHJS 15-09-2021 till Date